Queen of Sheba

On My Want To Read List

Tuesday, Sept. 19, 2017, THE QUEEN OF SHEBA releases
this is the last e-book novella in the Loves of King Solomon series by Jill Eileen Smith

Queen of Sheba E-Book Cover


Review of “Seeing the Elephant: Voices from the Oregon Trail”

Seeing the Elephant: Voices from the Oregon TrailSeeing the Elephant: Voices from the Oregon Trail by Joyce Badgley Hunsaker

This book has some very interesting stories of true life happenings on the Oregon Trail.

It contains actual journal entries and stories of Narcissa Whitman (1836), Thomas Jefferson Farnham (1839), Jesse Applegate (1843), Catherine Sager (1844), Abilgail Scott (1852), Ezra Meeker (1852), Helen Stewart (1853), Fincelius G. Burnett (1865), and Mrs. Lucy Alice Ide (1878). All these tell their stories of traveling the Trail to Oregon Country. All the accounts are in the actual words of those named and are most interesting.

I recommend this book to anyone interested in American History, especially the History of the Oregon Trail. It brings to light what truly happened to the people we call pioneers who traveled West in covered wagons to reach the land of their dreams. It is amazing all they went through and the positive determination they had to succeed. It causes one to truly appreciate these emigrants of the early West and all they accomplished.

–Leona Atkinson

View all my reviews

Redeeming Grace–Book Review

Redeeming Grace: Ruth's Story (Daughters of the Promised Land, #3)Redeeming Grace: Ruth’s Story by Jill Eileen Smith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Redeeming Grace by Jill Eileen Smith is Book #3 in the Daughters of the Promised Land series.
It is a fictional, yet historically, biblically based story of Ruth, the Moabite woman who is redeemed into a Hebrew family.

There are so many wonderful things I would like to say about this book, yet I know I must limit my words in this review to just a few.

The book creates a very believable story regarding the events written in the bible’s account of the book of Ruth. It offers historical facts regarding the cultures of the people of that time period.
It brings the biblical account to life by adding a believable true to life story based on historical facts done by Jil Eileen Smith. The way the author weaves fact and imagination together throughout this book makes it something that is not easily put aside, and as much as this book compelled me to keep reading it to the finish, it also made me not want it to end when I came to the final page.

Although I have read the book of Ruth many times in the bible, this book, Redeeming Grace, held my attention fast with each page and made me wonder what would happen next, even though I knew the outcome of each event from reading the bible. It also made me aware of historical facts that I had not known regarding people, places, customs, and cultures.

As I read the book I experienced the sadness, fear, and confusion of Ruth, a Moabite who was unhappy with her pagan life and wondered if there could be a better way to live. I shared in her confusion and awkwardness as she chose a new path for her life which led her away from her family and into a new land and new relationship with a God she didn’t know, but chose to trust and believe in.
I felt the sadness and sorrow of Naomi at the loss of her home in Bethlehem and then the loss of her husband and sons in a foreign country. Yet, I also felt her strength and her faith in her God, whom she loved in spite of all her grief and how she was faithful in her love for Him no matter what misfortune beheld her. I also felt the grief of Boaz as he dealt with his adverse life experiences, yet kept an unwavering faith in God through them all.

The story shows the reader Redemption, Renewal and Restoration for those who believe. It is also a glimpse into the second coming of our Redeemer, Jesus Christ, our Bridegroom who will soon be coming for His Bride, the true believers who have chosen to believe and receive Him. It shows how God works all things together for good for those who love Him as it says in Romans 8:28.

I highly recommend this book. It is an excellent read and one which will enrich your love for Adonai, the Lord God, and make you aware of his plans and purposes in your life as you believe, trust, and love Him.

I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, but a positive review was not required. My opinions are entirely my own.
–Leona J. Atkinson

View all my reviews


Happy New Year! 2017

54 Spiritual Blessings in Christ


Happy New Year!
Today would be a great day to begin your 2017 by learning what you have been blessed with in Christ!
The book of Ephesians lists 54 Spiritual Blessings that believers receive when they believe and receive Christ.
Discover a blessing each week of this New Year and learn how to walk in it!
Invite others to share your journey through hosting a weekly study.
54 Blessings throughout 52 Weeks–what an exciting way to spend a New Year!
 Order your copy today!